I got a package!!!

Standard

In the mail that is, for all you perverts. I decided to try a monthly box subscription and the first one I stumbled upon was Birchbox. I barely new any other subscriptions that were available beside Kiwi Crate which I had heard about often. So when I found Birchbox, a monthly box that was only ten bucks and sent me beauty products I jumped on the bandwagon. I got it in the mail Friday and was planning to write a review for it then but my house was really dirty so it came first. Not that it’s really any cleaner today I’m just really excited to share what I got.

A box for me!

A box for me!

And then for some reason I waited a painstakingly long time (20 minutes) to open it and this is what I found inside:

OOOOOH, STUFF!!!

OOOOOH, STUFF!!!

Inside my box was:

Beauty Protector: Protect and Detangle

Beauty Protector: Protect and Detangle

I already have something similar to this that I use on myself and all my clients to eliminate frizz, detangle, soften, and it’s like a leave-in conditioner but it’s not heavy and doesn’t weigh your hair down. I was willing to try something new though so after my shower today I tried to put this in my hair…it would not come out of the bottle! I unscrewed the top and discovered how good it smelled but also that it was really thick unlike what I normally use. I did everything I could to make it come out and I even tried to get some in my fingers and sun it through my hair that way, but I ended up using my regular magic potion anyway. Slightly disappointed with this one but I will still try to get it to spray.

Pravana Intense Therapy Leave-In Treatment

Pravana Intense Therapy Leave-In Treatment

This is my go to for everything, I even use it for a cutting lotion, but it is a fairly new line and even though I recommend it to all my clients it is hard for them to find in a store that is not just for licensed cosmetologists. Which is why I was excited about this other product because if it was good I could tell my clients exactly where to find it, but alas, it is no good.

Coola Classic Face SPF 30 Cucumber Moisturizer

Coola Classic Face SPF 30 Cucumber Moisturizer

Now this I loved! Everything from the smell to the ways it feels when you apply it. I have my own moisturizer that I use for everyday that I would never give up but I would use Coola on days when I know I am not going to put on full makeup and I will be outside and I would definitely purchase this in full size.

Folle de Joie eau de parfum

Folle de Joie eau de parfum

I’m kind of picky about my scents and when I first smelled this I didn’t like it much. I went ahead and wore it like I would my normal perfume just to see if I might like when wearing it and it’s not too bad then. I could see myself wearing it every now then just to switch things up, but I would never pay $98 for the full size bottle.

Sumita Color Contrast Eyeliner

Sumita Color Contrast Eyeliner

Despite not liking the color too much (navy) it is a high quality pencil. I tried it on my hand before using it on my eyes and it was exceptionally smooth and was it dried (about 2 seconds) it was not going anywhere!

My navy eyeliner with Urban Decay Eye Potion Primer in Sin and Benefit's 'They're Real' mascara

My navy eyeliner with Urban Decay Eye Potion Primer in Sin and Benefit’s ‘They’re Real’ mascara

 

IMAG0419

Acroball PureWhite hybrid ink pen

Acroball PureWhite hybrid ink pen

The pen looks nice and writes smoothly but the ink is almost the same color as the grip. I only use black pens so I’m not sure this would get much use. With it came a coupon also so I may look to see if they have any with black ink because those I would buy.

Overall I give this box a 2 out of 5 rating. There was a week waiting period just to get on the list, the products weren’t all that great and in came in tiny sizes. Like samples I could get for free with my online Sephora or Ulta orders…just not quite worth it. I will however just them a second chance and do it for one more month, but I am also going to check out some other boxes soon too.

6 thoughts on “I got a package!!!

  1. I LOVE Birchbox!! Another good one is Ipsy. I had both before I left for Arizona but had to unsubscribe for a bit. I have ended up ordering a couple big sizes of some of the products from time to time before.

  2. I got almost the exact same box as you for my first Birchbox too!

    I had the same problem with the Beauty Protector: Protect and Detangle. I couldn’t get it to spray either, but I tried shaking it up combined with some persistent squirting (I know that doesn’t sound right, ha!) and that did the trick. I wouldn’t give up on it, because despite the first impression, I really liked the product!

    I’ve got a full review of my birchbox at http://wp.me/3z4Hk if you’re interested.

    The only difference in our boxes is the pen. I got a facial scrub and dark spot serum from Yes To™ Grapefruit, which I think was my favorite out of the box!

Leave a comment